Meet the board

Find out more about the executive and non-executive directors at South Tees Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust.

Sue Page CBE

Chief executive officer

Sue has worked in the NHS for more than 30 years as chief executive in London, Cumbria, the North East and Liverpool. She has led hospital and community trusts, with a particular focus on improving organisations and leading them through significant change. Sue has previously worked in the northern region, leading hospital and community services in Northumberland and North Tyneside from 1990 to 2005, resulting in the creation of Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust in 1998. She also ran NHS Cumbria for seven years from 2006 to 2013 and received a CBE for services to the NHS in 2000.

Robert Harrison

Managing director

Robert joined the trust in 2020 from Harrogate and District NHS Foundation Trust, where he served as chief operating officer for ten successful years. Robert holds a postgraduate diploma in Health Service Management from the University of Birmingham and a bachelor’s degree in Applied Biochemistry from the University of Liverpool and worked in pharmaceutical research prior to joining the NHS Graduate Management Training Scheme. He subsequently held NHS management positions in Lancashire, Merseyside and Cheshire, prior to moving to Harrogate in 2010.

Chris Hand

Chief finance officer

Chris is a qualified accountant with over 20 years’ experience in NHS financial management, including 13 years at Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust. Most recently, Chris served as the executive director of finance at Northumberland County Council.

Hilary Lloyd

Chief nurse

Dr Hilary Lloyd was appointed chief nurse in 2021. Hilary qualified in 1989 and has held a number of nursing posts including acute health care, education and research. Most recently she served as the director of nursing, midwifery and quality at Gateshead NHS Foundation Trust.

Mike Stewart

Chief medical officer

Mike is a consultant cardiologist and was appointed chief medical officer in 2021. Most recently, he served as director of cardiovascular services at Auckland District Health Board. Prior to this Mike worked as a cardiologist at South Tees Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust from 1996 to 2018 where he also held medical leadership roles.

Professor Derek Bell OBE

Joint chair – North Tees and Hartlepool NHS Foundation Trust and South Tees Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Derek has 40 years’ experience in the NHS and previously served as president of the Royal College of Physicians. He was awarded an OBE in 2018 for services to unscheduled care and quality improvement.

Ada Burns

Vice chair

Ada has had a lengthy career in local government and public policy. She worked for 25 years in London in roles focussed on housing and regeneration. In 2005 Ada was appointed chief executive of Darlington Borough Council, a position she held until 2018. During her time in Darlington Ada was instrumental in the development of the Tees Valley Mayoral Combined Authority, and had a particular interest in programmes to address health inequalities. Ada is a Governor and Resources Committee Chair for Teesside University, Vice Chair of the New Local Government Network (NLGN), and a Director of a Community Arts Centre.

Richard Carter-Ferris

Non-executive member

Richard joined the board in September 2015. He is an experienced finance professional who has worked at senior level in a number of very large complex businesses. Previous roles include director of internal audit at Asda Wal*Mart, global financial controller for GE Plastics, finance director of National Express, East Coast and finance director of Vantage Airport Group. He is currently a self-employed consultant providing financial and non-executive support to a range of clients.

Debbie Reape

Non-executive member and senior independent director

Debbie is a registered general nurse and a registered sick children nurse who has worked in the NHS for 38 years in a number of senior nursing and management roles. Debbie joined South Tees NHS Trust as a non executive director on the 1st November 2018 following on from her retirement in 2017 from Northumbria Healthcare NHS Trust where her last role was as executive director of nursing. Debbie lives in Newcastle Upon Tyne and has one son.

David Jennings

Non-executive member

David is a qualified accountant and auditor with 36 years experience drawn mainly from local government and NHS organisations. He was, until August 2020, an NHS non-executive director with Tees, Esk and Wear Valleys NHS Foundation Trust. In 2018 he completed seven years as a senior finance professional with a Teesside local authority covering finance, IT, assets and the strategic capital programme. Prior to that, he had spent 27 years working for the Audit Commission, as a district auditor and latterly as a senior inspector.

David Redpath

Non-executive member

With roots firmly in the North East, David has enjoyed over 20 years in technology leadership and advisory roles around the world. His most recent role as a senior executive partner at research and advisory company Gartner sees him act as strategic advisory to multiple public and private companies in the UK. Prior to this David performed several CIO roles in different industries and served as a non-executive director at Newcastle Building Society and the Nation Union of Students. Married with two children and living in County Durham, David joined the board in January 2021.

Join our team of volunteers

We have more than 500 volunteers providing support within our hospitals and community services.