Compassion in Practice

Compassion in Practice is the new three-year vision and strategy for nursing, midwifery and care staff supported by the trust.

Launched at the chief nursing officer’s conference, the vision is based around six values to improve care for patients – known as the Six Cs – which are to be embedded in all nursing, midwifery and care-giving settings throughout the NHS and social care. They are:

community nursing blood pressure

  • Care
  • Compassion
  • Courage
  • Communication
  • Competence
  • Commitment

Around 9,000 nurses, midwives, care staff and patients Рall of who have a huge role in preventing ill health and promoting good health and wellbeing Рwere involved in the consultation process for the vision. Actions in the new vision for nurses include making sure decisions on staff numbers are transparent and based on evidence and implementing and embedding technology more widely across the NHS.

To help embed the Six Cs across the health and social care system, the government announced it will:

  • Give cash incentives to health education organisations, such as universities and Health Education England, to include the Six Cs in the curriculum from September 2013
  • Make sure everyone who wants to be a nurse, midwife or care-giver passes a values test based on the Six Cs
  • Introduce a national programme for nursing leadership development based on the Six Cs
  • Introduce a national accreditation scheme, like Michelin stars, that will show which hospital wards and care teams are best at caring for patients and displaying the Six Cs