Trust history

Timeline of key events

Date Event
1980 South Cleveland Hospital built
November 1981 South Cleveland Hospital opened by Duchess of Kent
November 1991 Made a trust by statutory instrument
April 1992 Officially became a trust
November 2000 South Tees Acute Hospital NHS Trust
April 2001  Officially renamed The James Cook University Hospital
April 2002  Merged with the Friarage Hospital
August 2003 Middlesbrough General Hospital closed
August 2003 North Riding Infirmary closed
October 2003 Official Opening of The James Cook University Hospital – single site hospital
April 2007 Official opening Friarage Hospital development
May 2009  Granted Foundation Trust status
April 2011 Trust takes over running of community services in Middlesbrough, Redcar and Cleveland and Hambleton and Richmondshire