Major Trauma Network

What is a major trauma network?

Major trauma networks comprise of a collection of service-providers and personnel, who serve a defined population and aim to reduce death and disability following injury. Each network is served by one or more Major Trauma Centres, along with a number of smaller hospitals called trauma units, and several prehospital care providers. Since the introduction of these networks in England, critically injured patients now have a 30% better chance of survival.

James Cook University Hospital was designated as a major trauma centre in April 2012. Together with the RVI in Newcastle, it is one of two major trauma centres that serve the Northern Trauma Network. The James Cook University Hospital operates as the hub at the Southern end of the region, serving people in the South Durham, Tees and North Yorkshire areas.

Trauma admissions are primarily taken directly from the scene via the ground and air ambulance services. A ground helipad, capable of day and night operations, is situated directly at the entrance to the emergency department. In addition, the major trauma centre takes secondary transfers from two trauma units – Darlington Memorial Hospital and the University Hospital of North Tees.


NTN map

Major trauma centre
Trauma units
Pre-hospital care